And she’s off… to camp!

tara square

 

Soooo, after lots of thinking and stressing and texting friends for advice and maybe a smidge of crying, I made a really difficult decision.

I am taking a two month hiatus from my business!

From June 1st to August 10th, I am going to be working for an awesome company called iD Tech that does technology summer camps for kids on college universities.

This means I will have limited availability through the rest of May and then won’t be booking until early August. I WILL still be answering emails and doing some work during that time, but I won’t be available for photo shoots.

…And it’s freaking me out!

 

I mean, I don’t want to make my clients unhappy or make them wait on me. So this is a big deal.

But my summer time is usually slow, and I am so excited to work with such an awesome company.

I love working with kids (I grew up wanting to be a teacher) and I am really excited to be spending time back at ASU.

I am even spending nights there during the week (and will be home on the weekends) which is crazy because I never even lived on campus when I attended school.

 

Now, the scariest part is this- I am a backup if a camp director is needed elsewhere.

For now, I am an assistant director, meaning I help the director run the camp  in Tempe, BUT if there’s a reason another camp needs a director, I would go and be the camp director, and run the camp. Which is crazy since I’ve never worked with this company before. But it’s crazy awesome that they think I could do that, I must have impressed the heck outta them in my interview!

So basically, they could call me today and say “You are going to Austin for two months tomorrow, pack up!”

Scary right?

I mean, I am already nervous being away from Mike and the puppies during the week and only seeing them weekends, but having to leave for the whole summer?  Well, that would suck.

But I think it’s going to teach us a lot about how lucky we are to have our family (yes, me and Mike and the dogs are a family!) and show us how to communicate better since we will be apart so much more than we normally are.

 

So, here’s to a new adventure and the hope that my clients will be understanding and ready for me when I am back with full force in August!

3 thoughts on “And she’s off… to camp!

Leave a Reply

