Journal Day! Arrhythmic Palpitations

This journal prompt came from Sometimes Sweet:
We all have songs that really mean something to us. Often just hearing it can take us right back to that place and we are able to re-experience the memory associated with the song. Sometimes good, sometimes bad, but either way music has the ability to really draw things out of us and evoke deep emotion. Choose a song that has a particular meaning to you. Tell the story of the memory associated with the song, sharing as much detail as you can. Take us there; let us experience it with you.

I have literally years worth of memories from living in Tempe, but for some reason, the last year I was there is what really sticks out. I was renting a house with my friend Candy and another roommate, working at Zia Records and finishing up school. I graduated in December of 2008, but lived in that same house until the following summer of 2009. It was a time of huge change, uncertainty and quite honestly, the start of me slipping into a pretty bad depression episode.

The ending of college is quite a scary thing and can be beyond overwhelming. I had friends moving away, I didn’t know where I was going to live and was entertaining the idea of buying a house (my dad offered a down payment as a graduation gift) and was only making $8 an hour selling CDs and novelty candies at the record store down the street. I was going to Casey Moores as often as I could afford and as I was getting ready to graduate in that fall of 2008, the EP “Little Brother” by Dead to Me came out.

I’ve always really connected to the band’s songs overall, but this album really hit me at a time I needed it. It’s so strange how you can feel the crave for new music and them BAM! it gets delivered and is better than you thought it could be. That’s what this album was, and even more specifically the song Arrhythmic Palpitations. I have a very specific memory of riding my bike to class and locking it up next to the art building and running in (I was ALWAYS late for class) and not wanting to turn the album off because I had just got it and it was the first time I was listening to it- riding my bike, ear buds in, blaring it on my ipod.

The song is fast and nervous and scared and exactly all the things I was feeling at the time. It made perfect sense to me and eased my emotions by reminding me that I am not the only person to feel that way. It’s a song I can belt out all the lyrics to and just let it go. It clicked at the perfect time when I needed it and is still one of my favorite songs (out of, oh you know, like a million favorites…)

P.S. It took me forever to pick what to write about with this… I mean, how many different songs/bands conjure up memories? I mean, almost all of them. This one is a really strong and prominent memory from a very weird and crazy time in my life…. but I could have picked about 600 other songs to write about!

Leave a Reply

