Do More of What Makes You Happy


Source

So basically, I feel like I’m a crazy woman and I don’t know exactly what I am doing but, I just put in my two weeks notice at work and I am about to be officially a

FULL TIME FREELANCE PHOTOGRAPHER!!!

Holy moly. This has been in the works for a while, some of you might have already figured it out via facebook and such and some of you I’ve told. I still obviously don’t know how it’s going to all pan out and I am basically scared as heck, but I know I need to follow my heart and give it a shot. All I want to do in the world is be a photographer, it makes me happier than anything else (well, except you know my family and all the people I love…) but it’s truly what I am meant to do. I love creating photos and I want to give it a go as a career, in a very serious manner.

I love doing pinup because making women feel beautiful and showing them just how strong and confident they can be. Getting dolled up is always fun and having photos for yourself or a loved one is always a reminder of the bombshell you are. I love photographing families so they have custom and unique to display of their family, not the boring standard photos from a department store studio. Engagement and weddings photos are such a blessing to me; being able to document a couple’s love and their big day where they share that love with those they love is a really beautiful experience, no matter how corny and lovely dovey that all sounds. I just love being able to do something different and custom and work with my clients to give them something precious.

It’s time to put it all on the line. Now or never. Jump in and get both feet wet. For a while now I’ve had too much to do for my photography business and not enough time to do it because of my 9 to 5 job, I am hoping to keep tipping the scales and working hard to promote enough business to support myself on doing what I love. If it doesn’t work, at least I know I’ve tried and I don’t have to always wonder if I could do it or not. I might not have everyone in my life thinking this is the smartest idea financially or emotionally, but I know it’s something I need to do. I need to show myself I can succeed, and even if I fail miserably and end up back at a desk 8 hours a day in front of a screen working for someone else to have a nice big bank account it won’t be a failure. I have to know, I have to try and I have to win and make it work- I have to do what I love and what I know makes me happy. And my fella is behind me 110%- which makes me feel like I could conquer the world, his love is so amazing.

I AM GOING TO DO THIS. I AM GOING TO BE THE BEST DAMN PHOTOGRAPHER I CAN. I AM GOING TO BE HAPPY AND I AM NOT GOING TO FAIL.

So with that said, can you do me a favor- can you PLEASE let anyone you know who might need a photographer to give me a look? Anyone getting married, having kids or just who might be in need of family photos. And of course anyone who might want some rad pinup style photos, as that is my specialty. The main way for me to build up some amazing clients is word of mouth so the love you share for me is most definitely invaluable.

There’s going to be lots coming up here- new website, new logo, lots of new projects and ideas (I have lists and lists and lists believe me!). I can’t wait to see what my future holds and I really hope that I have you there with me!

6 thoughts on “Do More of What Makes You Happy

  1. I wish you all of the luck in the world! I am a photographer as well and it is the only thing in the world that makes me happy. I want to leave my job so badly and start my own business.3 more years! That has been my goal for a very long time. good luck!

    • Thanks! I’ve been wanting to do it since I graduated with my photo degree but I was too scared at first. Now it’s time to give it a shot! Good luck to you too sir!!!!

Leave a Reply

