Women in Art- Cindy Sherman

Cindy Sherman has always been a huge inspiration to me, especially her early work. When I was in art school and started studying her work I was very connected to her self portraits, something I was heavily into during my years at ASU. I loved black and white dark room printing and found myself doing my prints in a very similar style. I always loved the contrast, the kind of grungy and grimy style and the honesty in her photos, something I always strive to have in all my work- honesty.


Untitled Film Still No. 3 by Cindy Sherman

I did lots of “around the house portraits of myself while at ASU which I don’t think I always realized were influenced by Miss Sherman. I really had a hard time with finding myself as a single woman out of my parents house so I explored the places I lived and how I (and others) interacted within them. Of course I didn’t realize what I was doing on the time, but now I can look back and see.


Fat Ass by Tara O’Connor

Cindy Sherman started doing some amazing portraits that were very innovaite for her time, long before myspace self portraits and cameras that have screens that you can flip back towards you to see the photo you are taking (yes my G11 has this, shutup!). Her portaits are obviously works of art and not fodder for some social networking sight, they are little snippets into a life that maybe was not even her own, but staged. They capture sweet little moments so well.


Cindy Sherman


Untitled by Tara O’Connor

Her later works, while still amazing, are much less my cup of tea and not so relate-able for myself and my work. She continually uses herself as the subject and has transformed herself into all manner of people, ranging in age, race, status, clothing and gender.


Cindy Sherman (this is an ad campaign for MAC makeup!)

I am still very inspired by Miss Sherman and her work, though maybe not as much as I was back in the day, but I still love her work and appreciate all she has done for women artists/photographers! She is simply talented and amazing!

One thought on “Women in Art- Cindy Sherman

  1. Pingback: Women in Art- Diane Arbus |

Leave a Reply

