“Where Should I Buy Clothing for my Pinup Photo Shoot?!”

sam (61) logo

Samantha Smith in Heart of Haute dress – Photos by Tara O. Photos

So you booked a shoot or you are thinking about booking one with me? And you don’t know where to go to get your clothing? Well, don’t worry! I am here to help!

Let’s start with “in person shopping”- my totally favorite shop in the area (Phoenix, AZ) is Antique Sugar! The shop is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix and has a huge array of vintage goodies including not only amazing dresses, skirts, shoes and hats, but also men’s clothing! It’s one of my favorite places!

Another awesome option is thrift shops, which are all over most major cities and they can really give you some amazing treasures, lots of my clients find amazing things at local boutiques and thrift shops such as Savers, Goodwill, etc. Just use Yelp and search “thrift” and find tons of great places! This will require some time and digging though!

In fact, one of my most favorite clients, Miss Jessica Sin, finds a majority of her clothing at vintage and thrift stores- she always amazes me with the clothing she has, she always shows up with amazing clothing!

miss-sin-7-logo

Jessica Sin , photo by Tara O. Photos

Also, If you’ve never been to etsy.com you are totally crazy! You can search for anything specific you are looking for, dresses, lingerie, swimwear, you can search specifically for vintage or just for handmade, really the possibilities are endless as is the dent in my bank account, ahem, credit card… Check out my personal favorite- Vintage Inspired by Jackie!

Of course eBay.com can be a great place to search as well. There’s so much on there though, it’s easiest if you have a specific company or line you are looking for. Or a certain style/name of dress you want.

Here’s a list of specific clothing lines that I love to browse/shop from and ones my clients seem to favor as well. This is just my opinion, none of these are sponsored in any way.

SQ1A2349

dress from Vintage Inspired by Jackie, modeled by Kandy K, photo by Tara O. Photos

Heart of Haute – one of my all time favorites, they know how to make super well fitting dresses, tops, skirts, etc

The Oblong Box Shop– Original designs by Denialle Von Fitch, as well as some items from other clothing lines!

Secrets in Lace – great high quality stockings and lingerie, everything you could want for under your skirt!

Tatyana Clothing – killer vintage reproduction dresses and separates, formerly Bettie Page Clothing

Fables by Barrie – if you want a kickass swimsuit or the most kickass western wear look no further! I have the gold Rita swimsuit and it was worth every penny!

Stop Staring – a very large label with awesome vintage repro

Bernie Dexter – one of the best pinup models ever making insanely cool clothing

Oh my goodness and then there’s accessory companies- hair bows, purses, heels, gloves, jewelry- which would/might be a whole separate post!

If you have anything you think need to be added to this list PLEASE let me know so I can check it out!

Save

5 thoughts on ““Where Should I Buy Clothing for my Pinup Photo Shoot?!”

  1. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

  2. Pingback: Where to Find Plus Size Pin Up Clothing • The PinUp Podcast

Leave a Reply

