Body Love Letter

Dear Big Toes,

Thank you for allowing me to keep my balance and walk the world I get to move through and observe.

Dear Hair,

Thank you for lasting through my many spurts of random hair dyes and styles.

Dear Fingers,

Thank you for letting me be able to hold hands tightly with those I love and connect in the best way possible.

Dear Ears,

Thank you for listening to and find the world of punk rock and helping me know the joy and sorrow and heartache and freedom that is music.

Dear Eyes,

Thank you for showing me the ugly in the world so I can truly enjoy the beautiful.

Dear Breasts,

Thank you for being a means to nourish my child one day.

Dear Fingernails,

Thank you for allowing me to paint you red and be classy. And then paint you other colors when I feel rebellious.

Dear Knees,

Thank you for giving me the ability to run and jump through nature, both as a little girl and now as an adult.

Dear Lips,

Thank you for letting me kiss my boyfriend and feel the butterflies that only he can give me.

Dear Butt,

Thank you for making me fart and then laugh at myself.

Dear Stomach,

Thank you for knowing how to process my food and help my body go.

Dear Thighs,

Thank you for being the canvas for two of my favorite tattoos.

Dear Teeth,

Even though the dentist proves you aren’t on my side, thank you for allowing me to chew up the yummy food I am blessed with daily.

Dear Vagina,

Thank you for being a source of great power and pleasure for me.

Leave a Reply

