Women in Art- Elizabeth McGrath


Sugar Foot

Wow! Wow! Wow! I am so in love with this artist. I first saw her work in person at the Mesa Arts Center, was one of the best exhibits I have ever seen “Lowriders and Tattoos” back in 2008. This deer below was at the show and I was mesmerized by it. It was just so beautiful and detailed and so greatly executed. It’s such fine craftsmanship. I was just so impressed and enthralled.


Urban Deer

Basically, McGrath’s work is breathtaking and very very visually inspiring to me personally. I want to try to photograph the way she makes work, but man, I don’t even know how- she’s so good!


Titanic Buffalo

She grew up in LA and does an amazing job combining natural animals with unnatural elements. Her works are grotesque while being very fragile and beautiful. I love the beauty she showcases in such an odd manner. She’s just simply amazing.

I also found out that there is a documentary about Miss McGrath called BloodBath, which I want to see so so so so so badly!

Check out her website for even more beautiful works of art!

Leave a Reply

