Some thoughts on being a Vegetarian

Note: This is not a rant, it is my thoughts and feelings. I honestly don’t care if you eat meat, I wish you wouldn’t and it makes me sad that the market for it is what it is, but I am not here to judge, to each his own.

My roommate Candy stopped eating meat a little while before I did. I thought she was crazy and grew up saying and thinking “God made animals for us to eat” and “There’s no way I could stop eating turkey or chicken or hamburgers.” I had never even entertained the idea until she did it and I thought, hmmm, why would she being doing this? I had seen the videos and knew it was all sad and everything, but I didn’t realize just how bad it was, or just how much it was all about money and profit, fuck the animals and fuck you consumers too, really. I watched a few PETA videos one night (cliche’ I know!) and the next day threw away any meat I had left and went to Sunflower Market and bought tons of healthy food.

At first, I didn’t know what to eat, I didn’t know what to buy. I told everyone I knew, just so I would put more pressure on myself to succeed. It was really hard for me at first. I miss the taste of meat, if I smelled it I wanted it so bad. My family made fun of me (they still do!) and said it wouldn’t last. I’m not trying to be “poor me” but really, people are mean about it. I think it’s simply to make themselves feel better.

Well, even though it was easiest at first, now I can’t even imagine eating meat on a regular basis, and I honestly cannot understand how someone could put a fast food burger in their mouth- BARF!!! My boyfriend eats meat and it works out fine, sometimes he eats veg with me, sometimes he doesn’t. I don’t mind. I know he knows about it all (he use to be vegetarian) and he’s made his choice. He feels unhealthy when he doesn’t have meat.

I feel great, it’s been about 3 1/2 years since I’ve eaten meat, I feel so awesome knowing I’m not ingesting dead animals. Just the thought of an animal rotting in my tummy, ew no thanks! Oh, and I poop like a champ (sorry if that’s TMI) There have been a few mistakes at restaurants and an infamous “must-have” tiny slice of salami I had on the plane to New Orleans, but when the day is done, I don’t eat meat. I love it and I’m glad I made the choice I did.

I don’t know if I will always be a vegetarian, but I feel pretty certain I will be. I’ve thought about going vegan a lot, but it just doesn’t seem to be something I can do right now. I hope that I can in the future, and I feel like I am just making a ton of excuses, but I really think one day I will have more money and be able to do it all right.

Oh, and this all came up because of an incident at work. My awesome supervisor got me a veg breakfast burrito for our company meeting. The CEO announced not to eat them because it was mine and then a discussion of “how can someone not eat meat” occurred on the side and some random comments here in there. I even had one person say as I walked by “How long have you been a vegetarian?” “A few years” “Wow, I just didn’t know that about you” And what I wanted to say was “That’s because it’s none of your GODDAM business.” I hate that people think they are entitled to ask you about it and get information from you. Almost like people who think they can talk to me about Kat Von D or touch my arm when they see me. I feel like a bitch, but I always just want to say
WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT FUCKING MAKE TO YOU AND YOUR LIFE THAT I DON’T EAT MEAT? OH NONE, EXACTLY.
but I guess that might be a little mean.

P.S. When I got bloodwork recently my protein range was exactly in the middle of the “normal” range. Meat=protein? Um, no.

Leave a Reply

